Thing 9: Video

Funnily enough I have made a YouTube video in the past, it was a C. V. YouTube clip. It wasn’t very good or very long. The job was for a teaching position and it was strongly advised to submit the YouTube clip as it would be heavily factored in the hiring process. From the number of views that were listed under the video, a staggering 6 all of which were by me, they never watched the clip. I still got the job but the idea of the video C.V. stressed me unnecessairly. To this day I am unsure how I managed to acomplish recording myself or how I got the clip on YouTube. I do remember it being extremely shouty and stiff. It still makes me blush thinking about it now but I was excited to try this task and erase all memories of my past C.V. YouTube stardom.

It was a fun task, however, I doubt I showed any real instructional skill and I was unable to hide the heavy breathing (if anyone has any ideas on hiding heavy breathing from videos or podcasts, please let me know). This tool as a learning aid for literacy programs is brilliant. It shows how different technologies and media outlets have evolved to suit the needs of the public. It gives viewers the opportunity to watch and follow instructions at their own pace without feeling judged. I know if I had to do a video in a classroom setting I’d feel like I was slowing down the class. I tried a few times to upload my recording unfortunately my diction was not clear enough for YouTube to pick up and the subtitles came out incorrectly. I also tried using the two way screen and web cam but got to distracted by my crazy hand gestures so just stuck with the screen cam. I look forward to watching more of the video blogs, those I have seen so far are brilliant and a little intimidating.