Thing 10: Virtual five

Snapshot_20151114_1

The video blog and the podcast have been, for me, the most difficult tasks so far. I feel a bit more vulnerable with these tools. I used to work in a call centre but they wouldn’t put me on the phones because I sounded like a six year old child (which was more than fine with me). It feels like a tool that I will learn to love, I think the more I play around  with it and use it, the more comfortable I’ll become and then there will be no stopping me. I tried installing the Periscope app but both my laptop and tablet were incompatible, I guess my software is in need of an update.

When blogging I feel I have more control over the tone and content I am putting out into the big bad World Wide Web. I am intrigued with these devices, however, especially with the hangouts that provide staff and patrons with a completely new method of outreach.

Librarians can now stream live library tours for those students or patrons who are unable to attend the tours set-up. Libraries can also provide live streams for book readings, school classes can face-time with other schools around Ireland or the world using there local libraries as an intermediate (it can be the new age equivalent of pen-pals). Language exchanges can be provided in libraries for people at certain times and local meetings such as book clubs or the mother-and-me groups can add hang-outs to there meetings for people who are unable to attend. The list is endless, there are many brilliant and innovative ways the library can use this device and I am excited to learn more about it and watch as it is utilized in different places.